Skip to main content

News feed

Ferenc Krausz is one of the recipients of the 2023 Nobel Prize in Physics

2023. 10. 03.

The new Nobel laureate in physics, Ferenc Krausz, is an honorary doctorate of the BME, having graduated from the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Informatics in 1985.

The 2023 Nobel Prize in Physics was shared equally between Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz, and Anne L'Huillier, announced Tuesday morning by Hans Ellegren, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. According to the justification, the scientists earned recognition with their experimental methods of producing attosecond light pulses for examining the movement of electrons within atoms.

Ferenc Krausz graduated from BME in 1985 as an electrical engineer. In 2005, at the suggestion of the Faculty of Natural Sciences, he was awarded an honorary doctorate by the BME. He is the director of the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics in Garching and a professor of experimental physics at the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich. In addition to numerous awards, he has already received the Wittgenstein Prize and the Leibniz Prize.

We congratulate the laureate and wish him further success!


Rector's Office Communications Directorate

Photos: Peter Seidel, Thorsten Naeser, MTI/Kovács Attila